Learner Enrolment FAQ | Western Cape Education Department

Learner Enrolment FAQ

WCED Learner Enrolment
Cape Winelands
John Goliath
Tel: 023 348 6000 | 023 348 4581
John.Goliath@westerncape.gov.za
Rural-Wine-100.jpg
Eden & Central Karoo
Jewel Jonkers
Tel: 044 803 8317 | 044 803 8300
Jewel.Jonkers@westerncape.gov.za
Rural-Eden-100.jpg
Metro Central
Brenda Robertson
Tel: 021 514 6700 | 021 514 6708 | 021 514 6793
Brenda.Robertson@westerncape.gov.za
Metro-Central-100.jpg
Metro East
Eric Magodla
Tel: 021 900 7203 | 021 900 7206
Eric.Magodla@westerncape.gov.za
Metro-East-100.jpg
Metro North
Wayne Abrahams | Leon Rutgers
Tel: 021 938 3006 | 021 938 3004
Wayne.Abrahams2@westerncape.gov.za
Leon.Rutgers@westerncape.gov.za
Metro-North-100.jpg
Metro South
Lynn Primo
Tel: 021 370 2000 | 021 370 2035
Lynn.Primo@westerncape.gov.za
Metro-South-100.jpg
Overberg
Japie Bailey
Tel: 028 214 7300 | 028 214 7379
Japie.Bailey@westerncape.gov.za
Rural-Overberg-100.jpg
West Coast
Anlerie Truter
Tel: 021 860 1200 | 021 860 1206
Anlerie.Truter@westerncape.gov.za
Rural-WCoast-100.jpg

Head Office

Lance Abrahams
Tel: 021 467 2000
lance.abrahams@westerncape.gov.za

Redewan Larney
Tel: 021 467 2000
Redewan.Larney@westerncape.gov.za

 

Apply early. Don’t wait till the last day.
Apply to more than one school.
Know the law/check the school’s Admission Policy.

Compulsory school-going age (Grade 1) is 7 years in the year that the child is in Grade 1.
Admission to Grade R is 6 years in the year that the child is in Grade R.

  • Birth certificate.
  • Immunisation card.
  • A transfer card/letter.
  • Last school report card for learners who have been to school.
  • A study permit issued by Home Affairs for foreign learners.

A child may be registered provisionally if these documents are not available. The parent must be given reasonable time to submit them.

Yes. Early childhood development assists learners to cope better later on in their school careers.

The WCED has not declared any feeder zones/areas.

No. Schools may not charge a fee before accepting a learner.