Western Cape Education Department National Senior Certificate Examinations 2017 Awards to learners - News | Western Cape Education Department

Western Cape Education Department National Senior Certificate Examinations 2017 Awards to learners

11 January 2018

Learners will receive awards for excellence in subject performance, excellence despite barriers to learning, special ministerial awards and for the top 50 positions in the province.

All learners will receive a monetary award and a certificate.

Category: Learner Subject Awards

In this category, one award is handed to the candidate with the highest mark in the designated subjects. Each learner will receive R 6 000 and a certificate.

Subject Description Name Centre Name Final Mark
Accounting Kiran Rashid Abbas Herschel Girls School 300
Accounting Rita Elise Van Der Walt Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof 300
Accounting Philip Visage Hugenote Hoërskool 300
Afrikaans Home Language Anri Matthee Hoërskool Overberg 297.8
Computer Applications Technology Christelle Herbst York High School 293.9
English Home Language Christopher Aubin Bishops Diocesan College 291.8
Engineering Graphics and Design Erin Michael Solomon Rondebosch Boys' High School 298.9
Information Technology Nathan Matthew Wylie Wynberg Boys' High School 298.5
Mathematics Erin Michael Solomon Rondebosch Boys' High School 299.7
Physical Sciences Tererai Muchabaiwa Malibu High School 300
Physical Sciences Erin Michael Solomon Rondebosch Boys' High School 300
Physical Sciences Matthys Louis Carstens Hoërskool Durbanville 300
Isixhosa Home Language Likhona Nosiphe Qazisa Centre of Science & Technology 269.6


Category: Excellence Despite Barriers to Learning

In this category, learners will receive R10 000 and a certificate.

This is awarded to a maximum of two candidates with special education needs who obtained the highest marks in their best six subjects that fulfil the requirements for the award of a national senior certificate. (excluding life orientation).

Centre Name Names
Hoërskool Swartland Pieter Jans Durr
Jan Krielskool Angelique Lettitia O'Connell


Category: Special Ministerial Award

This Special Ministerial Award goes to two candidates. They will both receive R10 000, a certificate and an electronic tablet.

Centre Name Names
Scottsdene High School Benedict Mafooa Khobotle
Westerford High School Genevieve Lee Heathcote Marks


Category : Excellence In Academic Achievement

In this category, all Learners Will Receive R10 000 And A Certificate.

This is awarded to the top 50 candidates according to the marks obtained in their best six subjects that fulfil the requirements for the award of a national senior certificate (two languages, mathematics and three other subjects excluding life orientation). Candidates are also drawn from schools within the context of study.

The names are combined and presented according to surnames, except for the top 3 candidates.

Top three candidates
Centre Name Names
1. Hoërskool Bellville Janke van Dyk
2. Hoërskool Durbanville Matthys Louis Carstens
3. Rondebosch Boys' High School Erin Michael Solomon


Centre Name Names
Herschel Girls' School Kiran Rashid Abbas
South Peninsula High School Huda Adams
Rylands High School Shazia Amoo
Bishops Diocesan College Christopher Aubin
Hoërskool Swartland Done Botha
Drostdy Technical High School Astrid Adihl Bothman
Bishops Diocesan College Felix Thomas Alexander Burt
Westerford High School Leila Chin
Gansbaai Academia Llewellyn Peter Davids
Hoërskool Gimnasium (Paarl) Chrizelle Marinda du Plessis
Manzomthombo Secondary School Kamva Aron Dubula
Fish Hoek High School Angela Frances Euston-Brown
Springfield Convent of the Holy Rosary Candice Kim Ewing
Springfield Convent of the Holy Rosary Elizabeth Pamela Fairall
Hoërskool Bellville Eugene Egbert Fouche
Livingstone High School Meeka-El Hendricks
Fairbairn College Joshua Heyns
Rondebosch Boys' High School Matthew Horrigan
Claremont High School Ameera Karriem
Bishops Diocesan College Kwangbem Ko
Claremont High School Sagel Julia Kundieko
Sinethemba Secondary School Bongela Manzi
Hoërskool Langenhoven Lize Mari Marais
Spine Road High School Laeeqa Martin
South Peninsula High School Luqmaan Mathee
Hoërskool Overberg Anri Matthee
Rylands High School Zainab Mayet
Vuyiseka Secondary School Siyole Mayongo
Phandulwazi High School Nkosazana Mcaciso
Herschel Girls' School Anna Illing Midgley
Hoërskool Outeniqua Emma Alida Nel
Claremont High School Zakiyyah Petersen
Belgravia High School Thaakirah Phillips
Parel Vallei High School Chanel Roos
Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof Gabby Smuts
Parel Vallei High School Juan Hermanus Swanepoel
Hoërskool Outeniqua Tiaan Swart
Mondale High School Yazeed Tyman
Cape Academy for Mathematics, Science and Technology Azraa Vally
Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof Rita Elise van der Walt
Hoërskool Stellenberg Jacques Ernst van Schalkwyk
Westerford High School Joshua Ze Ev von Zeil Singer
Paul Roos Gimnasium Wolfgang Sebastian Wild
Belgravia High School YuomnaWilliams
Westerford High School Lucy May Wills
Wynberg Boys' High School Nathan Matthew Wylie
Vuyiseka Secondary School Mpumelelo Yeko