Provincial Principals Forum | Western Cape Education Department
Provincial Principals Forum

Provincial Principals Forum

27 May 2024

Benorita Ockhuis, Principal of Villiersdorp Secondary School, has been elected as chairperson of the Provincial Principals Forum (PPF).

The provincial forum discusses matters of mutual interest between the Western Cape Education Department (WCED) and principals’ representatives to improve the quality of learning and teaching at schools under the auspices of the WCED.

Members are elected every two years.

Clive Arries, Principal of West End Primary School, was elected as the Deputy Chairperson.

Ockhuis, who has been in the education sector for more than 25 years and served as principal for the past seven years at Villiersdorp Secondary School in the Overberg, said it was an honour to be elected as the first female chairperson of the PPF.

“I feel a deep sense of responsibility and excitement about the opportunities ahead. Education is my passion, and I am committed to making a positive impact on our schools and principals.

“Our primary goals as members of the forum are to enhance professional development for principals and advocate for better resources and support for schools. Additionally, we want to strengthen communication between the forum and policymakers to influence educational policies positively.”

Ockhuis added that she hoped her election inspires other women to pursue leadership roles in education. “It is essential to have diverse voices and perspectives in leadership, and I want to be a role model who demonstrates that women can excel and lead effectively in this field.”

The other PPF members are Helga-Lee Burger (Carl Schreve Primary), Jacobus Burger (Ashton Laerskool), Brice Carelse (Atlantis School of Skills), Rodney Cupido (George Secondary), Etienne de Villiers (Agulhas School of Skills), Neil du Toit (Kathleen Murray Primary), Lonwabo Mbeke (Siphamandla Secondary), Alexander Molteno (Llandudno Primary), Mark Mosdell (Knysna High), Emile Petrus (Louwville Primary), Mathipa Poopedi (Sinethemba Secondary), Daneil Ross (Melkbosstrand High), Willem Smit (De Tyger Primary), Waldo Springveldt (Hex Valley High), Dylan Tommy (Gardens Commercial High) and Charlton Williams (Simonsberg Primary).

Provincial Principals Forum2