Matric 2018 Awards to learners - News | Western Cape Education Department

Matric 2018 Awards to learners

10 January 2019

Western Cape Education Department
National Senior Certificate Examinations 2018

Awards to learners

Awards to learners will be presented for the best performance in specified subjects, outstanding performance in the Special Needs category, Special Ministerial awards AND awards to the top 40 learners in the province.

Category 1: Learner Subject Awards

In this category, one award will be made to the learner/s with the highest mark in the subject.

Centre Name Subject Name
Masibambisane Secondary School Xhosa HL Noluntu Tamsanqa
Herschel Girls School English HL Charlotte Louw
Hoërskool Hermanus Afrikaans HL Annette van Wyk
Rondebosch Boys' High School Mathematics Timothy Schlesinger
Westerford High School Mathematics Liam Gurney
Westerford High School Accounting Liam Gurney
Paul Roos Gimnasium Accounting Jean Durand
Intsebenziswano Secondary School Physical Sciences Kamva Goso
Paul Roos Gimnasium Physical Sciences Jean Durand
Charlie Hofmeyr High School Physical Sciences Jannike van Wyk
New Eisleben Secondary School Physical Sciences Thinathi Stemela
Hoërskool Outeniqua CAT Elma Lamprecht
Hoërskool Stellenbosch Mathematical Literacy Janke Mostert
Rondebosch Boys' High School Visual Arts Julian Banks
Herschel Girls School Visual Arts Sophia Rabie
Herschel Girls School Visual Arts Joelle Joubert
Hoërskool Stellenbosch Dramatic Arts Janke Mostert
Delft Technical High School Technical Sciences Onke Sibeko
Bellville Technical High School Technical Maths Luvuyo Motimani
Hoërskool Stellenberg Information Technology Jacques Wust


Category 2: Excellence Despite Barriers to Learning

The first award goes to:

Centre Name Name
Pionier School Lise Mari van Wyk


The next award is presented to the candidate who obtained the highest mark in Sign Language both provincially and across the country.

Centre Name Name
Dominican School for the Deaf Ancilla Kaylyn Julius


Category 3: Special Ministerial Award

The Special Ministerial Award for 2018 is awarded to:

Centre Name Names
Zola Senior Secondary School Ntokozo Genu
Grabouw High School Trazeen Mbidlana
AZ Berman High School Lance Minnies


CATEGORY 4: Excellent achievement across the province (including Independent Schools)

This is awarded to the top 20 candidates according to the marks obtained in their best six subjects that fulfil the requirements for the award of a National Senior Certificate (two Languages, Mathematics and three other subjects excluding Life Orientation) AND the top 20 candidates according to the marks obtained in their best six subjects that fulfil the requirements for the award of a National Senior Certificate (two Languages, Mathematics and three other subjects excluding Life Orientation), provided that the candidates are drawn from the ex-DET, ex-HOD, ex-HoR and new WCED schools.

NOTE: The above two categories will be combined and presented according to surnames, except for the top 5 candidates.

Centre Name Name
Mondale High School Natalie Bianca Alexander
Hoërskool Outeniqua Nina Annika Augustyn
Paul Roos Gimnasium Jean Durand
Parklands College Tara Grobbelaar
Westerford High School Liam Edward Gurney
Hoërskool Stellenberg Karla Hanekom
Rylands High School Tharwat Hendricks
Klein Nederburg Sekondêre Skool Garren Ryan Hermanus
Westerford High School Jaeyoon Kim
Kayamandi Secondary School Relebohile Lenko
Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof Danielle Verné Louw
Livingstone High School Ester Joslyn Elizabeth Louwskitt
Paul Roos Gimnasium Chris Douglas Malherbe
Intshukumo Secondary School Ayabulela Matiti
Fairmont High School Jessie Megan Midgley
Intsebenziswano Secondry School Sange Mjindi
Herschel Girls School Nur-Ayn Mohamed
Zola Senior Secondary School Phakamani Mshuqwana
Hoër Meisieskool Bloemhof Aletta Helena Müller
Khanyolwethu Secondary School Simphiwe Ngewu
Makupula Secondary School Someleze Nongwe
Protea Heights Academy Myran Odayan
Livingstone High School Aasima Omar
South Peninsula High School Logan Lauren Oppelt
Rondebosch Boys' High School Razeen Parker
Parklands College Tara Pohl
Claremont High School Mogamad Yusuf Rahbeeni
Elsiesrivier Sekondêre Skool Michaela Jade Standaar
South Peninsula High School Jamie Lee Stemmet
Hoërskool D.F. Malan Femke Swanepoel
Fairmont High School Megan Van Schalkwyk
Parel Vallei High School Renee Van Zyl
Hoërskool Stellenberg Jacques Wust
Langa Secondary School Lukhanyo Zanekile
Fairmont High School Kelly Zeng


Top 5 candidates:

Rank Centre Name Name
1 Rustenburg Girls' High School Justine Lara Crook Mansour
2 Diocesan College Derek George Reissenzahn
3 Rondebosch Boys' High School Timothy John Schlesinger
4 Herschel Girls School Charlotte Marion Louw
5 Intsebenziswano Secondary School Kamva Goso