Story Stars | Western Cape Education Department
Story Stars

What’s next for Felix and Felicity?

2024 Essay Competition for Grade 4 learners

Calling all educators and schools of the Western Cape!

We are proud to announce that we have a winner for the 2023 Story Stars Essay Competition.
Zia van den Berg
from Kenridge Primary was named the winner.

We shared the past winners stories in the 2023 Story Stars readers that was delivered to your school at then end of January this year.

The deadline for entries is 10 May 2024.

We would like to you to encourage all your Grade 4 learners to enter the competition and for their teachers to submit the best stories in their class.

A rubric for assessment is included in the entry booklet.

To recap, Story Stars is the epic adventure of Felix and Felicity written by learners of the Western Cape and it’s time to send our heroes on their next quest. We want your learners to tell us what happens next?

Watch the latest episode, share it with your class and let’s get writing. Learners will need to write Felix and Felicity’s next chapter with themselves as the hero of the story.

2024 Story Stars deadline web.jpg

E-mail entries:
(Subject line: Story Stars Essay Competition 2024)

Hand deliver address:
Edumedia (WCED)
3 Station Road
Cape Town

Office hours: 8am to 3:30pm (Monday - Friday)

There are epic prizes valued at R50 000 for learners, their schools and teachers too!

Like last year the 2024 Winners will receive the following prizes:

In addition to writing, starring in and narrating the video, which will be watched by thousands of learners across the Western Cape, the Story Stars winner also received a tablet, book bag and branded stationery.

The winning school received a R10 000 transfer payment for learning and teaching support material and the teacher, a R2 000 gift voucher, book bag and stationery.

The 2nd and 3rd prize winners each received a tablet, book bag and stationery.

Story Stars winner's prize 2024_10.jpg

Story Stars 2023 Winners Story Stars 2022 Winners Story Stars 2021 Winners Story Stars 2020 Winners