Congratulations to the 2023 Western Cape Provincial Teaching Award winners! - News | Western Cape Education Department

Congratulations to the 2023 Western Cape Provincial Teaching Award winners!

1 September 2023

Statement by Minister David Maynier, Minister of Education Western Cape

This evening, I had the great pleasure of hosting the Western Cape Provincial Teaching Awards for 2023, now in their 23rd year.

These awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the incredible work that teachers in our public schools do every day, and to recognise excellent teaching practice.

These teachers relentlessly pursue excellence, and their passion for improving learning outcomes is clear for all to see. These qualities serve our learners well as we strive to get them #BackOnTrack, and equip them with the skills that they need to thrive in our evolving economy.

Our 2023 Provincial Teaching Award winners are:

  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching: Ms Hester Horn, Paul Greyling Primary School, Fish Hoek
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching (Grades 1–7): Mr Dillon Henwood, Elnor Primary School, Elsies River 
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership: Mr Mogamat Rosdine Desai, Heideveld Primary School, Heideveld 
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching (Grades 8–12): Ms Natasha Smith, Apex High School, Eerste River
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership: Mr Mzoliswa Michael Mavovana, Hector Petersen Secondary School, Wallacedene, Kraaifontein  
  • Excellence in Special Needs Teaching: Ms Jasmin Joy Meyer, Dorothea Special School, Cloetesville, Stellenbosch  
  • Excellence in Special Needs School Leadership: Mr Taswald Andrews, Florida School of Skills, Ruyterwacht
  • Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (GET): Ms Shariefa Clark, Beacon Hill High School, Beacon Valley, Mitchells Plain
  • Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (FET): Ms Nomakwezi Mayekiso, Siphamandla High School, Kuyasa, Khayelitsha
  • Excellence in Teaching Natural Sciences: Mr Clemence Thomas, Touwsrivier Primary School, Touws Rivier  
  • Excellence in Teaching Physical Sciences: Mr Cyril Goldstone, Bloubergrant High School, Bloubergrise, Cape Town
  • Excellence in Technology – Enhanced Teaching and Learning: Ms Shanley Amy Cyster, Rietenbosch Primary School, Cloetesville, Stellenbosch
  • Best Teacher Award: Ms Lizette Schroeder, Protea Heights Academy, Brackenfell
  • Kader Asmal Lifetime Achievement Award: Ms Siddieka Hassen, Capricorn Primary School, Vrygrond

We congratulate each one of these outstanding teachers, and look forward to seeing even greater achievements from them in the future.

Our 14 provincial winners will now go on to represent us at the National Teaching Awards, to be held on 5 October 2023. Four of our teachers walked away with national awards last year, along with two runners-up, so we are sure to see some great results this year.

We thank all teachers of the Western Cape for their hard work over the past year and encourage all residents of our province to reach out and #ThankATeacher in the run up to National Teachers’ Month in October.

Our teachers are our most valuable asset, and we appreciate their love, care, and support for our children every single day!

Media Enquiries:
Kerry Mauchline
Spokesperson to Minister David Maynier
Western Cape Ministry of Education