South African Mathematics Foundation Annual Awards | Western Cape Education Department
South African Mathematics Foundation Annual Awards

South African Mathematics Foundation Annual Awards

11 December 2020

Western Cape schools raked in the awards at the annual South African Mathematics Foundation (SAMF) Awards Function.

The event honoured learners, schools, and teachers that achieved in the various development programmes run by the organisation every year.

Beaumont Primary was the school with the most entries in the SA Maths Challenge while Sweet Valley Primary was named the top performing school overall in the same contest.

Minkyum Kim, a Grade 9 learner at Reddam House Durbanville was awarded the Best Young Mathematician in the Junior division of the Old Mutual South African Mathematics Olympiad.

Schools in the province did exceptionally well in the SA Maths Olympiad (SAMO) with Bishops Diocesan College, Wynberg Boys’ High, Cape Academy of Maths, Science and Technology and Claremont High emerging as the schools with the best participation for learners in Grade 8 and 9.

Worcester Gymnasium received an award as the top performing Maths, Science and Technology (MST) school and Westerford High was the top performing school in quintile 5 and second runner up to the overall top performing winner in South Africa, Bishops Diocesan College.

The virtual awards function also featured acknowledged special achievements and included honorary awards.

Leon Roode, Mathematics Subject Adviser in the Metro North Education District, and Mark Rushby, Deputy Principal of Sweet Valley Primary School were recognised for long service to the South African Math Challenge and South African Math Olympiad problem committee.

Michael Vamvadelis from Bishops Diocesan College received a 10-year service award for serving on the SAMO committee.

Several Western Cape learners received recognition. They are:

SAMO: Best learner per Quintile:
Quintile 3: Joshua Malgas, Panorama PS

SAMO: Junior Winners
9th place: Simon Oosthuizen, Grade 8, Westerford
7th place: Maia Birch, Grade 8, Rustenburg Girls’
2nd place: Tengjun Liu, Grade 8, American International school of Cape Town
1st place: Minkyum Kim, Grade 9, Reddam House Durbanville

SAMO: Best learner per Quintile Seniors
Quintile 5: Danielle Kleyn, Parel Vallei HS

SAMO: Senior Winners
10th place: Danielle Kleyn, Grade 12, Parel Vallei
7th place: Juliette Roux, Grade 10, Herschel Girls
6th place: Kerry Porrill, Grade 11, Cannon’s Creek
5th place: Emmanuel Rassou, Grade 10, South African College

The 2020 Annual Awards can be watched on the SAMF YouTube channel.