Where do parents go if they do not find a place?

Parents may approach their local district office.

Cape Winelands
John Goliath
Tel: 023 348 6000 | 023 348 4581
E-mail: John.Goliath@westerncape.gov.za


Eden & Central Karoo
Jewel Jonkers
Tel: 044 803 8317 | 044 803 8300
E-mail: Jewel.Jonkers@westerncape.gov.za



Metro Central
Brenda Robertson
Tel: 021 514 6700 | 021 514 6708 | 021 514 6793
E-mail: Brenda.Robertson@westerncape.gov.za



Metro East
Eric Magodla
Tel: 021 900 7203 | 021 900 7206
E-mail: Eric.Magodla@westerncape.gov.za



Metro North
Wayne Abrahams | Leon Rutgers
Tel: 021 938 3006 | 021 938 3004
E-mail: Wayne.Abrahams2@westerncape.gov.za
E-mail: Leon.Rutgers@westerncape.gov.za



Metro South
Lynn Primo
Tel: 021 370 2000 | 021 370 2035
E-mail: Lynn.Primo@westerncape.gov.za



Overberg
Japie Bailey
Tel: 028 214 7300 | 028 214 7379
E-mail: Japie.Bailey@westerncape.gov.za



West Coast
Anlerie Truter
Tel: 021 860 1200 | 021 860 1206
E-mail: Anlerie.Truter@westerncape.gov.za


Head Office

Lance Abrahams
Tel: 021 467 2000
E-mail: lance.abrahams@westerncape.gov.za

Redewan Larney
Tel: 021 467 2000
E-mail: Redewan.Larney@westerncape.gov.za



How do I get my child enrolled in a school of my choice?
Some points to consider.

Apply early. Donít wait till the last day.
Apply to more than one school.
Know the law/check the schoolís Admission Policy.

What is the admission age for Grade 1?

Compulsory school-going age (Grade 1) is 7 years in the year that
the child is in Grade 1.
Admission to Grade R is 6 years in the year that the child is in Grade R.

What documents are required to register a child at a
public school?

  1. Birth certificate.
  2. Immunisation card.
  3. A transfer card/letter.
  4. Last school report card for learners who have been to school.
  5. A study permit issued by Home Affairs for foreign learners.

A child may be registered provisionally if these documents are not available. The parent must be given reasonable time to submit them.

Is it important to enrol for Grade R?

Yes. Early childhood development assists learners to cope better
later on in their school careers.

Can a child be refused permission if they do not live in a
schoolís feeder zone?

The WCED has not declared any feeder zones/areas.

Can schools charge a non-refundable deposit before
accepting learner?

No. Schools may not charge a fee before accepting a learner.