1. The National Teaching Awards (NTA) recognise excellence and high levels of professionalism and provide the education fraternity with the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of outstanding teachers by highlighting the exceptional work done by teachers.

2. The Western Cape Education Department (WCED) is, therefore, proud to present and host the 18th annual provincial awards ceremony, a preliminary event before the 18th annual NTA ceremony.

3. An electronic version of the Information Guide, containing the nomination forms and qualifying criteria, is attached. Please note that printed copies will not be supplied to schools. Schools are requested to print the attached nomination forms for completion.

4. All teachers, governing bodies and district officials are invited to submit nominations, based on the criteria contained in the Information Guide, to their principals or centre managers.

5. Deserving teachers may be nominated in the following categories:

  • Excellence in Grade R Teaching
  • Excellence in Primary School Teaching (Grades 17)
  • Excellence in Secondary School Teaching (Grades 812)
  • Excellence in Primary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Secondary School Leadership
  • Excellence in Special Needs and Inclusive Teaching
  • Excellence in Technology Enhanced Teaching and Learning Award
  • Excellence in Teaching Mathematics (GET)
  • Excellence in Teaching Natural Sciences (GET)
  • Nelson Mandela Lifetime Achievement Award
6. Principals and centre managers are requested to forward the completed nomination forms to their respective district offices for the attention of the district coordinators. Should you require additional information, please contact the relevant district coordinator listed below:

District District coordinator(s) Contact details Email address
Metro East Ms Genevieve Rhode 021 900 7035 Genevieve.Rhode@westerncape.gov.za
Mr Keith de Wet 021 900 7036 Keith.DeWet@westerncape.gov.za
Metro Central Ms Lesley Hutchings 021 514 6945 Lesley.Hutchings@westerncape.gov.za
Metro North Mr Trevor Adams 021 938 3016 Trevor.Adams@westerncape.gov.za
Mr Owen Weeder 021 938 3174 Owen.Weeder@westerncape.gov.za
Metro South Mr Rowan Esau 021 370 2016 Rowan.Esau@westerncape.gov.za
Cape Winelands Mr Alton Koenze 023 348 4673 Alton.Koenze@westerncape.gov.za
Mr Bertram Jacobs 021 348 0633 Bertram.Jacobs@westerncape.gov.za
Eden and Central Karoo Mr David Sampson 044 803 8341 David.Sampson@westerncape.gov.za
Overberg Mr Edward Kies 028 214 7367 Edward.Kies@westerncape.gov.za
West Coast Mr Avril Daniels 022 719 1809
082 639 7554
Provincial Office (CTLI) Mr Gavin de Bruyn 021 900 5062/37 Gavin.Debruyn@westerncape.gov.za
Ms Jacqueline Titus 021 900 5035 Jacqueline.Titus@westerncape.gov.za

7. Nominees are requested to familiarise themselves with the criteria and process for adjudication.

8. Your attention is drawn to the following as stated in the Information Guide:

For the selection of the winners at cluster, provincial and national level, nominees will be required to give a presentation (PowerPoint or poster) on both the general and specific criteria, highlighting their work to be considered for this coveted award. This will serve as the final interview in determining cluster, provincial and national winners.

9. A maximum of five teachers may form a team per category.

10. The closing date for the submission of all nomination forms to district coordinators is 11 August 2017.

11. Cluster and provincial runners-up and winners will each receive Information and Communication Technology (ICT) vouchers of different values, to be redeemed at a reputable ICT service provider, i.e.:

Level Value of ICT voucher
Cluster winners R4 000
Cluster runners-up (2nd and 3rd) R2 000
Provincial winners R12 000
Provincial runners-up R7 000

12. Winning schools will each receive a cash award of R5 000 (cluster) and R7 500 (provincial) per school per finalist, to be used for the professional development of the teaching staff to improve classroom practice.

13. In addition, the winners at both cluster and provincial level in the Category: Excellence in Teaching Natural Sciences (GET) will receive sponsored weekend getaways from CapeNature at their resorts across the province. For further information you may contact the relevant district coordinator or the Directorate: Cape Teaching and Leadership Institute.

14. The National Teaching Awards are supported by the Head of Education, unions, governing body associations and the Provincial Minister responsible for Education.

15. All members of the school community are encouraged to participate in nominating deserving teachers for the National Teaching Awards.

16. Kindly bring the contents of this minute to the attention of all teaching staff.

DATE: 2017:07:25

NTA 2017 18th Edition Information Guide & Nomination Form  (size: 3 678 KB)